Meet our Faculty Prof. Roger G. Pertwee

Prof. Roger G. Pertwee

University of Aberdeen Scotland, UK
Roger Pertwee, cann10, cbd medical

Professor Pertwee has degrees in biochemistry (MA), pharmacology (D.Phil) and physiological sciences (D.Sc) from Oxford University. He is co-chairman of the International Union of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (IUPHAR) Subcommittee on Cannabinoid Receptors, has served as President (1997-1998 and 2007-2008) and International Secretary (1992-2018) of the International Cannabinoid Research Society (ICRS), chairman of the International Association for Cannabinoid Medicines (IACM; 2005-2007), is also currently a member of the IACM Board of Directors, and has formal links with GW Pharmaceuticals. He received the 2002 Mechoulam Award “for his outstanding contributions to cannabinoid research”, the British Pharmacological Society (BPS) 2011 Wellcome Gold Medal “for outstanding contributions to pharmacology, based mainly on research achievements”, the 2013 IACM Special Award “for his major contributions to the re-introduction of cannabis as a medicine”, and a Highly Cited Researcher Award from Thomson Reuters in 2014 “in recognition of ranking among the top 1% of researchers for most cited documents in their specific field”. He is also an Honorary Fellow of the BPS. His research has focused mainly on the pharmacology and therapeutic potential of cannabinoids. This cannabinoid research began in 1968 at Oxford University and continued when he moved to Aberdeen University in 1974. His achievements include the joint discovery of delta-9-tetrahydrocannabivarin in cannabis, and of endocannabinoids, the discovery of a CB1 receptor allosteric site, and significant contributions to the pharmacological characterization both of phytocannabinoids (e.g. delta-9-tetrahydrocannabivarin, cannabidiol, cannabidiolic acid and cannabigerol) and of notable synthetic cannabinoids (e.g. methanandamide, ACEA, ACPA, AM251, AM281, AM630, O-1057 and Org27569).